Started in 1966, the event has been a regular fixture in the MGA’s Calendar. The Champion Trophy is called “The Tuanku Syed Putra Trophy” which is named after Almarhum Tuanku Syed Putra ibni Al-Marhum Syed Hassan Jamalullail, the Raja of Perlis who donated the trophy.

The championship is one of the premier amateur golf tournaments in the MGA’s Calendar and open to Malaysian amateurs only. As from 2009, the ladies’ division was included to give equal opportunity to our ladies players to compete at world-class standard tournaments simultaneously given the opportunity to earn points in the R&A World Amateur Golf Ranking (WAGR).

As this is a closed event, only local amateurs will be eligible to take part. 2016’s edition was held concurrently with the Perak Amateur Open at Royal Perak Country Club with Warda Amira Abdul Rawof of MGA won the Ladies’ Event and Galven Kendall Green of MGA won the Men’s Event.