PRESS RELEASE

ATTENTION SPORTS DESK: FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

DATE: August 4, 2022

ANSON YEO AND NG JX SUPRISE WIN AT ROYAL PERAK GOLF CLUB

Anson Yeo Boon Xiang from Sarawak stole the limelight from the more experienced players in the field to clinch the victory at the 64th Perak Amateur Open. He carded 71, 67, 70 for 8-under-par 208 tournament total and won RM4,000.00 prize money. It's a Sarawak's affair in the men division with their players winning first and second place. Malcolm Ting Siong Hung carded the lowest score of the day with 3-under-par 69 to finish second 1 stroke behind champion. Malcolm scored 70, 70, 69 for 7-under-par 209 total.

"I am very proud to win this event", Anson Yeo said. "I will continue to train hard and win more events."

Ikhmal Basry from UUM won third place with scores of 70, 71, 73 for 2-under-par 214 tournament total.

'I am happy to play more consistently now. I hope I can win first place in my next event at Nilai Springs Golf & Country Club", Malcolm said.

The 64th Perak Amateur Open is one of the premier amateur events in the country which is part of the World Amateur Golf Ranking counting events. Royal Perak Golf Club was given the honour to host this year's edition from 2-4 August 2022.

This event was hotly contested among the players as it is used as one of the qualifying rounds for the 118th Malaysian Amateur Open to be held later this year.

Ng Jing Xuan fought hard with the winner of the Penang Amateur Open to bring home the ladies division title with 7-under-par 209 tournament total. Ng Jing Xuan carded 72, 67 and 70 respectively to win the title and RM3,000.00 prize money.

"I won the second state amateur open of the season. It's awesome," said Ng Jing Xuan. "I am very happy to win and hope I can win more events to secure my place in the Final".

Mirabel Ting who won in the recent Penang Amateur Open carded 70 consecutively in the 3-day event for 6-under-par 210 tournament total followed by Winnie Ng who carded 72, 69, 71 for 4-under-par 212 tournament total.

Top 8 (Men)

Anson Yeo Boon Xiang	- 71, 67, 70 (208)
Malcolm Ting Siong Hung	- 70, 70, 69 (209)
Ikhmal Basry	- 70, 71, 73 (214)
Marcus Lim	- 71, 75, 69 (215)
Irfan Syahmi	- 70, 74, 72 (216)
Umar Kushairi Muhd Kamal	- 73, 74, 70 (217)

Zia Iqmal Abdul Rashid - 68, 76, 73 (217) Muhammad Fakhrul Aiman - 71, 75, 72 (218)

Top 3 (Ladies)

 Ng Jing Xuan
 - 72, 67, 70 (209)

 Mirabel Ting
 - 70, 70, 70 (210)

 Winnie Ng
 - 72, 69, 71 (212)